The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the squad for the first two Tests against Australia starting from February 23 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. Looking at the squad it is evident that the selectors, coach Anil kumble and the skipper Virat Kohli do not want to tinker with the core of the side.


India are currently on a 19-match unbeaten streak. King Kohli and his men have reigned supreme in six consecutive Test series against Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa, New Zealand, England and now Bangladesh. And now India will have the final litmus test ahead of them as winning a Test series against the mighty Australia is not going to be a cake walk for the in-form Indian team.

No other Indian captain has been on such a run in Test cricket. The run machine is on the verge of breaking the record of Ricky Ponting’s 22-match unbeaten record. The only captain who would be ahead of Kohli if he manages to go past Ponting’s record will be the legendary West Indian Clive Llyod (26 match unbeaten run).


However, Kohli is going to make sure that he has the best XI to face the Aussies. Unfortunately Rohit Sharma is still not fit enough to be picked for the first two Tests. Shikhar Dhawan too has been left out as he has not been scoring a lot of runs.

Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav and Abhinav Mukund have been retained in the squad. This is the same squad that faced Bangladesh in Hyderabad. It will be interesting to see what kind of strategies Steve Smith will resort to against the red-hot Indian side. Looking at the anticipation, one be can be rest assured that this is likely going to be one hell of a four-match Test series.