Asianet News English

Kerala: Pala Assembly constituency voting underway for by-poll

Voting has progressed at all 176 polling booths across the Pala Assembly constituency in Kerala for bypoll.

Kerala: Pala Assembly constituency voting underway for by-poll
Kottayam, First Published Sep 23, 2019, 11:52 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Kottayam: Voting for by-election in the Pala Assembly seat is currently underway at 176 polling booths spread across the constituency. A total of 13 candidates are in the fray, including Tom Jose of UDF, Mani C Kappan of LDF and N Hari of NDA.

The by-election was necessitated in Pala following the death of Kerala Congress (M) leader KM Mani in April this year. Mani represented Pala constituency for over 50 years. The late leader Mani, one of India’s longest-serving legislators and representative of Pala constituency in Kottayam, passed away at a private hospital in Kochi on April 9.

Last month the Election Commission announced by-elections for four Assembly seats in Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Tripura, and Uttar Pradesh. The ECI had taken the decision to hold by-polls after taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions, etc.
The counting of votes will take place on September 27. 

With ANI inputs

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios