This is the first by-poll for Gundlupet constituency. The post became vacant after the sudden death of Congress leader H S Mahadev Prasad. Thus to safeguard the seat, Congress has given the ticket to the late minister’s wife Geetha Mahadev Prasad, whereas BJP has fielded CS Niranjan Kumar. However, both are yet to file their nominations.


If Geetha wins the elections, it will be a part of history as she will become the second woman to win from the constituency after KS Nagarathnamma and will be the third woman MLA to be elected from Chamarajanagar.  Apart from Nagarathnamma, another woman to be elected as MLA from the constituency is Parimala Nagappa, who had contested after the death of her husband, Nagappa.


BJP candidate Niranjan had contested twice before but was defeated. However, the constituency has a record of winning the third time. Even late Mahadev Prasad won the election the third time.


However, Congress is counting on the sympathy votes. With Siddaramaiah’s popular budget, the party might be in a position to claim the seat. But massive victory to the BJP in five states in the poll held recently might have an effect in Karnataka too. BJP has started campaigning with great force and vigour.


The by-poll will be held on April 9.