Election for the post of member of legislative council vacated by the demise of Vimala Gowda will be held on Aug 31 and the result will be declared the same day.  The filing of nominations for post, which the State legislative assembly elects, will commence from Aug 21 and will be verified on Aug 22.  

Aug 24 is the last date to withdraw the nominations.  Aug 31 is the polling day and the same evening results will be announced. Vimala Gowda’s membership period was till 2018 but she died 2 months ago, reported Kannada Prabha.

In view of Congress having more number of seats in the legislative assembly, it is expected that a Congress candidate will win.  Hence there is tough competition in the Congress for this seat.  In the first stage itself serious competition is seen among former minister Rani Satish, former chairman of Karnataka Water Board B C Chandrashekhar, council former member Nazeer Ahmed, Taradevi Siddarth, Ambedkar Corporation chairman M S Basavaraj.  

It is expected that Vinay Kulkarni, close aid of Minister D K Shivakumar is also join the list of aspirants. Vinay Karthik was severely interrogated during the IT raid on D K Shivakumar and sources say there are possibilities of heavy lobbying for him.