Yogi Adityanath’s swearing-in ceremony was held at the Kanshiram Smriti Upvan saw a number of VIPs, including chief ministers of 11 states, besides Bharatiya Janata Party parliamentary board members and other dignitaries.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP chief Amit Shah and party veteran L K Advani were present at the ceremony, which was also attended by outgoing chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and SP patron Mulayam Singh Yadav. Several BJP chief ministers also attended the function.

Along with Adityanath, two Deputy Chief Ministers - Dinesh Sharma and Keshav Prasad Maurya,  other Cabinet ministers also took the oath. Surya Pratap Shahi, Suresh Khanna, Swami Prasad Maurya, Satish Mahana, Rajesh Agarwal, Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Dhara Singh Chouhan, Dharampal Singh, SP Singh Baghel, Satyadev Pachauri, Ramapati Shastry have taken take oath as a cabinet ministers


Six women, including Rita Bahuguna Joshi have been sworn in as part of the Yogi's cabinet. 



The new Chief Minister has stressed that he too will be concentrating on the development mantra and Modi’s slogan ‘sabka haath, sabka vikas’. "I am confident that the state will march on the path of development," he had said in his first brief media interaction at the Raj Bhawan. He had also said his efforts would be to provide "good governance" in the state.


Among the ministers attending the event, you have names like Chhattisgarh CM R Singh, MP CM Shivraj S Chouhan and Andhra CM N Chandrababu Naidu.


After taking charge, Adityanath is expected to hold a meeting with ministers in which some important decisions will be taken as per the party's "sankalp patra" (manifesto).


The 44-year-old priest-turned-politician will be addressing his first press conference in the evening after taking charge as the Chief Minister, BJP sources said.


Commenting on Adityanath's elevation as the Chief Minister of the most populous state, Union Minister Uma Bharti said, "Narendra Modi becoming PM and younger brother Yogi Adityanath becoming CM are the best news of 21st century."


The governor also administered oath of office and secrecy to 22 cabinet ministers. Before Adityanath, Kalyan Singh, Ram Prakash Gupta and Rajnath Singh of BJP had served as UP chief minister. Kalyan Singh, now Rajasthan governor, held the high office twice. Like him, C B Gupta, Charan Singh, N D Tewari, Mulayam Singh Yadav and Mayawati too have served as chief minister more than once.


Adityanath, the controversial mascot of hardline Hindutva, was yesterday named as next Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, in a move by the BJP that took many by surprise. A five-term Lok Sabha MP, BJP leader Yogi Adityanath is a fiery Hindutva mascot who has developed a reputation of being controversy's favourite child over a period of time.


People will watching to see how the BJP leaders move on the promise of building the Ayodhya temple. As even Yogi Adityanath had said that the hurdles on the path of construction of a grand Ram temple will be gradually removed and its construction will soon start in Ayodhya.


With inputs from PTI