Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Rajasthan Assembly session begins; Ashok Gehlot's government likely to win confidence motion

The Rajasthan Assembly session started on Friday. Experts say that the Congress could win the confidence motion. The opposition party will raise questions on the government’s work in the two days assigned for the Question Hour.

Rajasthan Assembly session begins Ashok Gehlots government likely to win confidence motion-prk
Jaipur, First Published Aug 14, 2020, 12:40 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Jaipur: The fifth session of the 15th Vidhan Sabha of Rajasthan started at 11 am on Friday (August 14) after the rebel politics stopped in the state.

After Speaker CP Joshi’s address, the session was adjourned till 1 pm. Chief minister Ashok Gehlot who has prepared to move a confidence motion in the Assembly said that the truth and people will triumph in the state.

The seating arrangements have changed within the Assembly. After being removed from the position of deputy chief minister, Sachin Pilot did not sit next to Gehlot but instead, he sat in the second row.

Pilot sat next to independent MLA Sayam Lodha on seat No. 127 which was allotted to him. Minister Shanti Dhariwal sat next to Gehlot today.

Along with Pilot, the seating arrangements for former minister Vishvendra Singh and Ramesh Meena also changed in the Assembly hall. Vishvendra was assigned seat No. 14 in the last row and Meena was assigned seat No. 54 in the fifth row. Because of the coronavirus restrictions, the ministers were seated at a distance. For this, 45 new seats have been arranged.

Experts say that the Gehlot-led government could win the confidence motion. This is how they believe that Gehlot could win the motion.

Total MLAs: 200

Majority mark: 101

MLAs on government’s side: 125

Congress MLAs: 107 (MLAs of Pilot faction: 19, BSP MLAs: 6)

RLD: 1

Independent MLAs: 13

BTP: 2

CPI(M): 2


BJP MLAs: 75

RLP: 3


Before the Assembly session started, the BJP called for a meeting of its MLAs within the Assembly hall.

BSP issued a whip and asked its MLAs to vote against the Congress.

Before the Congress, the BJP too had called for a meeting of its MLAs on Thursday. Former chief minister Vasundhara Raje and Union agriculture minister Narendra Singh Tomar were part of the meeting.

Raje said that the Congress government has not done anything for the public. Sources said that the leader of opposition Gulabchand Kataria and the state BJP president Satish Poonia have planned to bring a no-confidence motion in the Assembly.

Two days have been assigned for the Question Hour in the Assembly session. More than 500 questions have been taken on record in the Vidhan Sabha. The questions related to phone tapping have been excluded from the questions so far selected for the Question Hour on August 17 and 18.  But sources say that the  BJP will raise the issue of phone tapping.

The coronavirus crisis is the biggest issue among the questions raised by the legislators on the basis of public demand. Health minister Raghu Sharma has been asked 54 questions, 26 of which are related to the coronavirus pandemic. There are six questions for the Disaster Management Department on the attack and damage caused by locusts and also about the movement of labourers to Rajasthan during the coronavirus lockdown.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios