Asianet News English

Kerala Piravi: Here is how God's own country was formed 63 years ago

God's own country Kerala, was officially formed in 1956. Kerala will celebrate its 63nd anniversary on November 1.

Kerala Piravi: Here is how God's own country was formed 63 years ago
Thiruvananthapuram, First Published Nov 1, 2019, 10:36 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Thiruvananthapuram: God's own country celebrates the 63nd anniversary of its formation on Friday. Kerala formation is also known as Kerala Piravi. The state was officially formed on the same day in 1956, November 1.

 Before gaining independence, the state was occupied by three independent provinces named Malabar, Cochin and Travancore, the latter two being erstwhile princely states. Kerala was created long after India gained independence in 1947.

The urge to form a united Kerala aka Aikya Kerala, consisting of Malayalam-speaking territories together was a dream for the residents in the area for ages. In 1928, the earliest resolution demanding an Aikya Kerala was passed at the state people’s conference in Kochi.

Several major agitations for political rights and a popular government began in Kochi and Travancore soon after independence. On July 1, 1949, the provinces of Travancore and Cochin were merged by the government of India under Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. 

However, till the mid 1950s the land continued to be politically divided, despite geographic similarities and solidarity of language. During this period that communism managed to take firm roots in the region, which went on to be recognised by Leftist ideology.

In 1956, the borders of modern Kerala came into existence when the Travancore-Cochin state was merged with the Malabar district - which then belonged to Madras Presidency under the British - and the Kasaragod area of South Canara district. Some parts of southern Travancore, such as Kanyakumari, went to the Madras state as part of the exchange.

Now, Malabar forms the northern territory with Thalassery, Kannur and Kasaragod with a tiny pocket-handkerchief of erstwhile French colony of Mahe. The middle section is formed by the state of Cochin, while the southern territory comprises Travancore, another erstwhile princely state.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios