Bengaluru: The Congress, on Sunday, has announced its candidates for three of the four Legislative Council seats which will go for elections on October 28.

The selected candidates are Sharanappa Mattur, Praveen Peter, and RM Kuberappa. KPCC president DK Shivakumar gave the ‘B’ forms to the candidates on Sunday.

Sharnappa Mattur, whose term ended earlier this year, has been renamed the party candidate for the North East Teachers’ Constituency.

Sharnappa who is a strong candidate, will take on BJP’s former MLC Shashil.

Also read: Karnataka: Raid on DK Shivakumar’s house attempt by BJP to derail bypolls preparation, says Siddaramaiah

Praveen Peter has been picked to represent the Bengaluru teachers’ constituency and Kuberappa for the West Graduates’ constituency.

However, the party is yet to name a candidate for the South-East Graduates’ seat, but former JD(S) MLC Ramesh Babu is said to be the frontrunner.

The four seats in the council fell vacant after completion of the term of R Chowdareddy Thoopalli and Puttanna of JD(S), SV Sankanur of BJP and Sharanappa Mattur of Congress in South-East Graduates’, Bangalore Teachers, West Graduates’ and North East Teachers’ constituencies, respectively.