Bengaluru: The BJP had taken a lead from the very first round in both RR Nagar and Shira as counting began in the assembly seats with postal ballots on November 10.

With 20 rounds of counting being completed, BJP candidate Munirathna is currently leading the RR Nagar bypolls with 1,03,139 votes. As Kusuma H, Congress’ candidate stands with 58,528 votes and Krishnamurthy the JD(S) candidate stands with 8,794, it is a clear win for Munirathna.

Also read: Massive fire breaks out at chemical factory in Bengaluru

Thanking and dedicating his win to his voters, Munirathna stated that he would serve the RR Nagar constituency with all his efforts as long as he is in power.

Munirathna will soon get a certificate from the Election Commission of India (ECI) declaring his win followed by which he is expected to meet the Chief Minister of Karnataka, BS Yediyurappa and other BJP members.

Earlier today, Senior BJP leaders and party members including Basavaraj Bommai, R Ashoka and Sriramulu were seen celebrating at Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa’s residence, as Munirathna continued to gain the highest number of votes at RR Nagar.