Tumkur: The counting of votes for bypolls to two assembly constituencies in Rajarajeshwari Nagar (RR Nagar) in Bengaluru and Sira in Tumkur began on Tuesday morning.

The BJP had taken an initial lead in both RR Nagar and Shira as counting began in the assembly seats with postal ballots on November 10. BJP continues to lead the bypolls with Rajesh Gowda securing the most votes in Shira.

Also read: Karnataka bypolls: Munirathna continues to lead in RR Nagar with 16,575 votes

In the fourth round of counting at Shira assembly constituency in Tumakuru at 10 am BJP candidate Rajesh Gowda led with 8,919 votes, while Congress candidate Jayachandra has garnered 7577 votes. JD(S)'s Ammajamma has received 4842 votes so far.

The Shira seat fell vacant after the JD(S)candidate B Satyanarayana, an advocate who won the 2018 polls, succumbed to a chronic illness on August 4.

Meanwhile, with seven rounds of counting being completed at 10:45am, BJP candidate Munirathna is currently leading the RR Nagar bypolls with 39,0787 votes.

Munirathna received 6,164 votes in the first round, and 28,8675 votes in the fifth round according to the Bengaluru Bruhat Mahanagara Palike (BBMP and the Election Commission of India (ECI).