Bengaluru: Among the 15 candidates elected in the by-elections to the state Assembly, 13 were sworn in as MLAs on December 22.
Thirteen members, including 12 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were sworn-in as lawmakers today in the presence of Karnataka Assembly speaker Vishweshwara Hegade Kageri.

The new members are - Mahesh Eranagowda Kumatalli from Athani Vidhan Sabha constituency, Shrimant Balasahab Patil of Kagawada constituency, Ramesh Lakshmana Rao of Gokak constituency, Jallakuyar Rao of Shirlabhavaru.

Anand Singh, Dr K Sudhakar, BA Basavaraja, ST Somashekhar, K Gopalya, Sharat Kumar Bachchegowda and MC Narayana Gowda were also sworn-in as legislators.

BA Basavaraja and ST Somashekhar took oath in the name of truth and loyalty, B Patil in the name of Jagjyothi Basaveshwara and the remaining 10 members took oath in the name of the Lord.

Several dignitaries, including chief minister BS Yediyurappa, Revenue minister R Ashok, Home minister Basavaraja Bommai, Primary and Secondary Education minister S Suresh Kumar and Excise minister H Nagesh were also present at the ceremony.