Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election result 2023: Who will win Saja?

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election result 2023: MLA and Minister Ravindra Choubey won from Saja seat of Chhattisgarh 7 times. Congress' Ravindra Choubey is fielded against BJP's Ishwar Sahu. Who will win?

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election result 2023 Saja Seat Counting of Votes Live Updates Leads Results Winners gcw
First Published Dec 3, 2023, 8:22 AM IST

The Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Results 2023 might see a close contest between the incumbent Congress (INC) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Exit polls released on November 30, 2023, painted a picture of a clear lead for the Congress party in the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections 2023. Most of the surveys predicted that the incumbent Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel-led party would retain power.

This adjoining constituency in Bemetara district is currently held by state agriculture minister Ravindra Choubey, an influential Brahmin leader. He is a seven-term MLA. This constituency also witnessed communal tensions earlier this year after the after the murder of a man belonging to the Sahu community, leading to retaliatory killings. 

Also Read | Chhattisgarh assembly election result 2023: Can Congress repeat its 2018 performance in Kharsia?

What happened in 2018 elections?

Ravindra Chaube emerged victorious, the next closest rival by 31,535 votes. The winning candidate secured a 17.60% margin over their closest rival. There were a total of 2,24,964 voters in the seat, which includes 1,13,388 male voters, and 1,11,575 female voters. In the 2018 Chhattisgarh elections, Saja recorded a voter turnout of 82.39%. In 2013 the turnout was 83.52%, and in 2008 it was 74.17%.

In 2013 & 2008 elections

In 2013, Labh Chand Bafna of BJP won the seat by a margin of 9,620 votes (5.82%). Labh Chand Bafna secured 49.4% of the total votes polled.  INC won this seat in the 2008 Assembly elections with a margin of 5,055 votes (3.74%), registering 47.23% of the total votes polled.

Also Read | Chhattisgarh Election 2023: Exit polls show Congress ahead of BJP

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios