Bharatiya Janata Party's Madhavaneni Raghunandan Rao is leading in Telangana's Dubbak seat by more than 2,000 votes, as the counting is underway for the assembly bypolls.

The bypoll was held in the constituency following the death of sitting TRS MLA Solipeta Ramalinga Reddy in August.

While BJP's Madhavaneni Raghunandan Rao is leading with 43,586 votes, TRS' Solipeta Sujatha has secured 41,103 votes. INC's Cheruku Srinivas Reddy is third with 14,832, the data available on the Election Commission of India's website showed at 3:43 pm.

Meanwhile, Rajya Sabha MP and BJP national spokesperson Rajeev Chandrasekhar expressed his gratitude to the voters for electing the saffron party to power.  

Both Sujatha and Srinivas Reddy are first-timers while Rao is contesting the polls for the third time. He had finished third in 2014 and 2018 polls. While TRS leaders were confident that it will be a cakewalk for the party both BJP and Congress were determined on giving a shock to the regional party.

In the Dubbaka by-election result 2020, 22 rounds of vote counting are over and one more round is left. The Dubbaka by-election result 2020 will be declared after all rounds are done.

The polls have become a prestige battle for ruling TRS as Dubbaka shares its borders with Gajwel, represented by CM KCR, Sircilla -- the constituency of CM's son and IT Minister KTR, and Siddipet, the stronghold of CM's nephew Harish Rao.