The tenth edition of Namma Bengaluru Awards will be held on April 27, 2019.

Namma Bengaluru Awards recognises and honours outstanding individuals and their contribution towards making Bengaluru a better place to live in and making a difference to the city.

So far NBA has seen 2,58,468 nominations and has awarded 87 unsung heroes out of 261 finalists in nine years.

Bengaluru achievers are awarded in various categories including Citizen of the Year, Rising Star of the Year, Media Person of the Year, Social Entrepreneur of the Year, Government Official of the Year and ‘Namma Bengalurean of the year’.

The Namma Bengaluru Awards Trust will manage the administration of the awards process.

The tagline for 2019 is ‘My City My Heroes’. The nomination for the awards were strictly online and the Trust has accepted only the completed online applications. The award process is monitored and supervised by an internationally renowned audit firm. Online nominations have been chosen as the mode of nomination to enable greater number of applicants.

The jury comprises 16 Bengalureans who are experts in various fields.

Actor - director Ramesh Aravind is the Ambassador of Namma Bengaluru Awards 2019 and is also on the jury panel.

2018 awardees

Sanjeev Dyamannavar - Citizen of the Year

Rasheed Kappan - Media Person of the Year

Dipika Bajpai - Government Official of the Year

Prashant S B - Social Entrepreneur of the Year

Vidhya Y got the Rising Star of the Year

Director of Spastics Society of Karnataka, Rukmini Krishnaswamy was honoured with the Namma Bengalurean of the Year award.

In 2018, the NBA also had honoured four citizen groups; Friends of Lakes, Project Vruksha Foundation, Save Pattandur Agrahara Lake and Save Kaggadasapura Lake. NBF is known for fighting the cause of keeping the city lakes clean and rejuvenating water bodies in the city.