Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Kannur Election Results 2024 : Sitting MP K Sudhakaran beats LDF candidate to win second time

Kannur Lok Sabha Election Results: UDF's K Sudhakaran has won for the second term in Kannur, who defeated P. K. Sreemathi Teacher of the CPI(M) in the 2019 elections. In the 2024 elections, the LDF  fielded Jayarajan and BJP nominated C Raghunathan.

Kannur Kerala Lok Sabha Election results 2024 winning candidates k sudhakaran jayarajan C raghunathan anr
First Published Jun 4, 2024, 6:10 AM IST

The counting of votes for the Lok Sabha Election will begin at 8 am on Tuesday (June 4). K Sudhakaran once again contested for the Congress, while CPI(M)'s Jayarajan is the LDF candidate. The BJP fielded C Raghunathan as its candidate for the Kannur Lok Sabha constituency. The voter turnout was 75.74%.

2024 Election Results:

Sitting MP K Sudhakaran managed to reclaim the Kannur seat by a margin of 108411 votes and garnered 517099 total votes.


MV Jayarajan (LDF)- 408834

C Raghunath (NDA)- 119496

2024 Elections: 

UDF's K Sudhakaran is once again contesting for the Congress and UDF, while CPM's Jayarajan is the LDF candidate. The BJP has nominated C Raghunathan as its candidate for the Kannur Lok Sabha constituency. 

2019 Election:

In the fiercely contested battle of the 2019 General Assembly Elections, Kannur witnessed an impressive 83.05% voter turnout. INC candidate K. Sudhakaran emerged victorious with a significant victory margin of 94,559 votes, securing a total of 5,29,741 votes. K. Sudhakaran defeated P. K. Sreemathi Teacher of the CPI(M), who garnered 4,35,182 votes.

Kannur Lok Sabha constituency:

The Kannur parliamentary constituency in Kerala boasts a significant political legacy. According to the 2011 census, it has a total population of 1,672,184 and comprises 11 legislative assembly seats, including Taliparamba, Irikkur, Azhikode, Kannur, Dharmadom, and Mattannur. The Kannur Lok Sabha seat was created in 1977, previously falling under the Travancore-Cochin seat. Over the years, both Congress and CPI(M) candidates have clinched victories in multiple elections.

Latest Videos
Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios