Prasad was elected thrice on Congress ticket.


Srinivas Prasad was defeated by Cogress candidate Kalale Keshavamurthy by a margin of 21,334 votes. Srinivas Prasad was polled 64,878 votes.


Srinivas Prasad's defection to BJP called for byelections in the constituency. Upset over being dropped from the party during cabinet expansion, popular dalit leader had quit the party and joined BJP.


Riding on his popularity wave, BJP was hoping to win this election but the voters were not kind to Srinivas Prasad. Besides, senior leader SM Krishna's entry to BJP was expected to help the party gain votes in the constituency. But none of it helped Prasad.


Moreover, lack of BJP's presence in the constituency also factored his defeat, it is said.