Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Telangana Election Results 2023: Akbaruddin Owaisi eyes sixth win, dominates Chandrayangutta seat

In the upcoming 2023 Telangana Assembly elections, Chandrayangutta braces for a significant political battle. Akbar Uddin Owaisi of AIMIM, seeking his fourth term, faces opposition from candidates like Madani bin Sarmed Qureshi, Kowdi Mahender of BJP, Naresh of INC, and M Sitharam Reddy of BRS. Owaisi's historic stronghold faces challenge amidst a diverse field, making this electoral contest highly anticipated.

Telangana Assembly Elections 2023 Chandrayangutta seat counting of votes live updates leads results winners
First Published Dec 3, 2023, 9:31 AM IST

Chandrayangutta braces for a consequential battle in the upcoming 2023 Telangana Assembly elections, setting the stage for a political showdown among key contenders vying for dominance. With Akbar Uddin Owaisi of AIMIM holding the seat for the fourth term, a compelling electoral race unfolds, featuring notable opposition candidates eyeing a shift in political dynamics.

Nestled among the 15 constituencies within the capital city and constituting part of the Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency, Chandrayangutta assumes a pivotal role in the state's political arena. As of 2.30 pm, In the constituency, Akbar Uddin Owaisi has gained a huge lead of over 38,000 votes at the constituency, nearing to his sixth tenure as a contestant of AIMIM.

Akbar Uddin Owaisi, the floor leader of AIMIM in the Telangana Legislative Assembly, stands as a formidable figure representing the Chandrayangutta constituency for an impressive fourth term. His tenure has been marked by unwavering representation and leadership within the constituency. Notably, an independent nomination, Madani bin Sarmed Qureshi, has entered the electoral fray, adding a layer of complexity to the impending electoral contest.

The General category assembly seat of Chandrayangutta holds significant importance, situated within the Hyderabad district and forming one of the seven assembly segments constituting the Hyderabad Parliament Seat.

He has been contesting Kowdi Mahender represents the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Boya Nagesh (Naresh) stands as the candidate for the Indian National Congress (INC), and M Sitharam Reddy vies for BRS, setting the stage for a compelling electoral battle amidst a diverse array of contenders.

The historical electoral narrative of Chandrayangutta reflects the stronghold of AIMIM, notably with Akbar Uddin Owaisi clinching victories in the 2014 and 2018 Assembly elections with considerable margins. His 2018 win saw a remarkable victory, securing the seat by defeating Shahejadi Sayyad of the Bharatiya Janata Party with a substantial margin of 80,264 votes.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios