Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Rishikesh, Election Result 2022 LIVE: Premchand Aggarwal hits a four; wins with 19,057 votes

BJP’s Prem Chand Aggarwal has created a record by winning the state assembly elections from Rishikesh for the fourth time in a consecutive row.

Uttarakhand elections 2022 live result updates Rishikesh constituency drb
Dehradun, First Published Mar 10, 2022, 6:00 AM IST

Uttarakhand’s Rishikesh constituency is Bharatiya Janata Party’s proven bastion. For the last three consecutive elections, BJP’s Prem Chand Aggarwal has been from this seat. Last time Aggarwal defeated his Congress rival with a victory margin of 14,801 votes. The sitting MLA was confident of repeating the same success story for 2022, and he did so. Aggarwal did not only win the elections for the fourth consecutive time in a row but he also won the elections by a margin of whopping 19,057 votes.

BJP’s traditional rivals, the Indian National Congress (INC), have tried to give a fight but have been unsuccessful to beat Prem Chand Aggarwal in Rishikesh. Congress had placed its hope on Jayendra Chand Ramola, to capture the power and break Aggarwal’s winning streak, however, he failed to do so. Instead, Congress lost the battle by an embarrassing margin.

Total 12 candidates in the fray: For the Rishikesh seat, this time 12 candidates haD entered into the fray and the most prominent among them were INC’s Jayendra Chand Ramola, BJP’s Prem Chand Aggarwal, Samajwadi Party’s Kadam Singh, Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)’ Jagjeet Singh and Aam Aadmi Party’s Raje Singh Negi.

Election issues in 2022: The locals had been complaining about the pollution of the Ganga River that flows from Rishikesh. Shops and hotels owners and many residents are allegedly letting untreated sewage into the river. The BJP which took up several projects that are sentimental to Hindus, promised to clean rivers, setting up Sewage Treatment Plants, and save heritage and culture. Congress, on the other hand, had said that if voted to power, it will give a go-ahead for the CBI probe in irregularity during Covid times and also graft case in AIIMS, Rishikesh.

The vote share of BJP and Congress in 2017: In the 2017 assembly elections, BJP candidate Prem Chand Aggarwal won in this prestigious seat defeating Rajpal Singh Kharola of Congress. The victory margin was 14,801 which was 15.05%. Aggarwal polled 45,082 and got 46.2% out of a total of 98,348 votes which is 64.7%. His rival from Congress got 30,281 and registered 31.03% vote share. Independent candidate Sandeep Gupta got 17,149 (17.58%).

The vote share in 2022: As per the State Election Commission, 1,67,924 voters are in the Rishikesh assembly segment out of which 87,452 are male and 80,468 are women voters but only 51.07% voters of the assembly segment voted on February 14.

Also Read: Gangotri, Uttarakhand Election Result 2022 LIVE: Will AAP's Ajay Kothiyal change equation?

Also Read: Khatima, Election Result 2022 LIVE: Will it be a hat-trick for CM Pushkar Singh Dhami?

Also Read: Uttarakhand Election 2022 Result LIVE: BJP takes a massive lead in latest trends

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios