Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election result 2023: BJP makes a comeback with 54 seats

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Result 2023: The BJP has registered its biggest-ever victory in Chhattisgarh as it has won in 54 out of 90 seats in the tribal state. Congress, on the other hand, could only manage to win in 35 seats.

Chhattisgarh assembly Election result 2023 Counting of Votes Live Updates Leads Results Winners and more gcw
First Published Dec 3, 2023, 7:39 AM IST

The BJP has registered its biggest-ever victory in Chhattisgarh as it has won in 54 out of 90 seats in the tribal state. In the assembly elections held for the first time in Chhattisgarh in 2003, BJP won 50 seats with a 39.26 per cent vote share. Congress, on the other hand, could only manage to win in 35 seats which has come as a shocker for many.

The majority mark in the state is 46.  When the assembly elections were held for the first time in the state, BJP won won 50 seats. It then won 50 and 49 seats respectively in 2008 and 2013 polls.

Meanwhile, Bhupesh Baghel of Congress defeated his nephew and BJP MP Vijay Baghel by 19,000 votes in his home turf Patan. 

Also Read | Assembly Elections 2023 Results Live Updates: Counting of Votes to start at 8 am 

Key candidates

Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel was running for a third term from his hometown of Patan, while his predecessor, BJP's Raman Singh, was running from Rajnandgaon. TS Singh Deo, a senior Congress politician and Deputy Chief Minister, wa running from Ambikapur. Vijay Baghel of the BJP and Deepak Baij of the state Congress were two more important figures. The other key Congress candidates included Charan Das Mahant (Sakti), Tamradhwaj Sahu (Durg Rural), Ravindra Choubey (Saja) and Jai Singh Agrawal (Korba).

The Congress and the BJP had fielded candidates in all 230 seats, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is contesting 183 seats, Samajwadi Party on 71 and Aam Aadmi Party on 66.

Also Read | Chhattisgarh Election 2023: Exit polls show Congress ahead of BJP

About 2023 voting

The first phase covered 20 constituencies, with 223 candidates in the contest, while the second phase involved 70 constituencies and 958 candidates.  In all, 1,181 people ran for office in these elections. A marginal decrease from the 2018 polls was seen in the total voter turnout, which was 76.31 per cent for both phases. Voter turnout was registered at 78 per cent in the first phase and 75.88 per cent in the second.

2023 Exit poll prediction

The exit poll predictions state that the Congress party is predicted to take a lead in Chhattisgarh, with the Bharatiya Janata Party being a close second. 

According to India Today - Axis My India, Congress is predicted to win 40-50 seats, BJP 36-46 seats and  Others 1-5 seats. Additionally, Jan Ki Baat predicted that BJP is expected to bag 35-45 seats, Congress 42-53 seats. Similarly, C-Voter predicted BJP to seal 36-48 seats and Congress 41-53 seats.

2018 election results

In the 2018 Chhattisgarh Assembly elections, the Congress, led by Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, secured a clear majority by winning 68 out of 90 seats, while the BJP secured only 15 seats. 

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios