Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

16 and counting: Kohli's India remains unbeaten at home!

  • India defeated England in the Vizag Test by 246 runs.
  • With this India have gone 1-0 up in the series.
  • This was India's second biggest win over England .
16 and counting Kohlis India remains unbeaten at home

Chasing India's target of 405, the English side was bundled out for 158 even before tea on the final day. Ravichandran Ashwin was India's pick of the bowlers with eights wickets, while the other scalps were shared between Ravindra Jadeja (3), Jayant Yadav (4), Mohammed Shami (3) and Umesh Yadav (1).

With this victory, Virat Kohli remains undefeated in 15 Tests as India's Test skipper. The first Test against Sri Lanka in the three-Test series in 2015 is Kohli's only loss since he officially took over the captaincy from MS Dhoni. 


The win by 246 runs was also India's second biggest win regarding runs against England. 


Meanwhile, talking about 2016, India is the only Test side that is yet to lose a match. Out of their nine Test appearances, Kohli and Co have won six and drew three Tests. 


India also continues to remain unbeaten on the home soil, and it is the only side to do so since 2013. The previous time India faced defeat at home was in 2012 against the same opponents - England. 


So far, India have remained unbeaten in 16 consecutive home Tests. 


Earlier, England, who resumed their innings on Day 5 with eight wickets in hand and 87 runs on the board, suffered a batting collapse losing five wickets for just 37 runs. 


Kohli's rotating bowlers was executed brilliantly as the first four scalps on the final day were picked by four different bowlers - Shami, Jayant Yadav, Jadeja and Ashwin.


Batting first, centuries from Kohli and Cheteshwara Pujara inspired India to 455 in the first innings. In reply, the visitors were bundled out for 255. 


Kohli once again top-scored in the second innings for India with 81 runs, setting a target of 404 for England. The Indian Test skipper, who scored a total of 248 runs was awarded the Player of the Match. It was the first time he received the award as the Indian Test captain and third overall. 

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios