After clamping a ban on flights to and from Italy, entry to the state of Qatar from India remains banned due to the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19) worldwide. The Qatar government has also restricted flights from India and suspended its operation.

The decision includes covering countries like Bangladesh, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria and Thailand.

This initiative from the Qatar government is to take all necessary, preventive measures to limit the spread of coronavirus.

Following this decision, this comes as a big blow to individuals, who aspire to enter Qatar from these countries, including those who want to opt for visa on arrival, or those with a residence or work permit and even temporary visitors.

As the virus seems to spread by the day across the world, the state of Qatar has urged all citizens and residents to avoid all but essential travel at this time.

These measures may remain implemented until further guidance from the national health authorities and international organisations on the spread of coronavirus.