Five fascinating facts about Karnataka Rajyotsava

First Published 1, Nov 2017, 7:02 AM IST
Five fascinating facts about Karnataka Rajyotsava Kannada Rajyotsava
  • Karnataka state was formed on November 1 in 1956, and it was called Mysuru State before this date
  • Karnataka has people speaking different languages, food and are diverse but there are factors which keep every Kannadiga together
  • Here  is why celebrating Karnataka Rajyotsava is important

Karnataka state was formed on November 1 in 1956. Though Karnataka consists of people who are speaking different mother tongues (languages), have different food culture and diverse interests, there are many factors which unify everyone as a Kannadiga. Kannada Rajyotsava is the day to remind everyone why we are all one and despite differences, everyone is a proud Kannadiga. Here are five facts which make the celebration special and shows the unity of people.

1) The word Karnataka came into existence

The word Karnataka was used for the first time officially on November 1, 1956. Though the state was free, it was called Mysuru State prior to 1956. The name was changed because Mysuru was the name of the princely place ruled by Wodeyar kings. But there were many other provinces and regions which did not associate with the word Mysuru. Thus a neutral name Karnataka was given.

2) Who coined the word Karnataka?

According to etymologies the word Karnataka Desha or Karnataka was used in many literature books including in mythological books Sabha Parva and the Bhishma Parva of Mahabharata, an ancient Indian epic, The Matsya Purana, Skanda Purana, Markandeya Purana and the Bhagavata Purana.

Scholars Pāṇini who was present from 520 BC to 460 BC mentions Karnataka in his works Mrichchakatika and Kathasaritsagara. Later, in the 5th century CE, the term Karnataka was used by the astrologer Varaha Mihira in his work Brihatkatha, and the Birur plates of Kadamba Vishnuvarma call Shanti Verma.

Thus it is not known exactly who coined the term. But it is believed that various movements which were named Karnataka Ekikarana Samithi led to the leaders coming to a consensus to name the state Karnataka.

3) The regions in Karnataka were from many princely provinces

The regions that makeup today’s Karnataka came under 20 different administrative units including the Princely state of Mysuru, Nizam’s Hyderabad, The Bombay Presidency, The Madras Presidency and The territory of Kodagu.

4) Though the main language is Kannada, the state boasts of other languages too

Karnataka was majorly formed on the basis of the language spoken by the majority of the people-i.e Kannada. Most of the states in India have one language and different dialects of it. But Karnataka has people speaking different mother tongues. There are people speaking Kodava language, Tulu, Konkani, Beary and other languages.

Even though small groups of people even demand a separate Tulu land or a Kodava land, by large everyone considers Kannada as the language of the state and celebrate the diverse culture and languages and are proud to celebrate Karnataka Rajyotsava which has united altogether.

5) Kannada flag

Though there are many cultures, languages, food habits which do not match with other regions of the state, a factor which unites everyone is the yellow-red flag of Karnataka. Wherever there is a programme, event or even protest irrespective of the region or the language, this flag is used by all making everyone Kannadigas -i.e. people of Karnataka.