Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Gujarat Election Mehsana Result 2022 Live: BJP continues to rule Mehsana district

Gujarat Election Mehsana Result 2022: The Mehsana district comprises of seven Assembly constituencies and among them --- Mahesana and Unjha --- are the important seats for the BJP. The saffron party has won on all seats and continue its reign in this district.

Gujarat Election Mehsana Result 2022 Live updates who is winning from Mehsana district gcw
First Published Dec 8, 2022, 7:28 AM IST

Mehsana district is well-known in North Gujarat for its socioeconomic and political influence, but it is also well-known because Vadnagar, the hometown of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is located there. After the 2017 Patidar agitation, the BJP suffered significant setbacks because the Mehsana district is heavily influenced by Patidars, Thakors, Chaudharies, and Patels.

Voting for the Gujarat Assembly elections 2022 was held in a two phases. 

Becharji Assembly seat: Thakor Bharatji Sonaji of Congress had won in the last election from Becharji seat, this time Thakor Amrutji Babuji got a chance in his place. Thakor Sukhaji Somaji came out to fight him on behalf of the BJP and won with 45821 votes. The Aam Aadmi Party gave a chance to Sagarbhai Rabari from here.

Kadi Assembly seat: The BJP had given chance to Karsanbhai Solanki and he won 99885 votes. Opposing him was Congress' Pravinbhai Parmar and Aam Aadmi Party's Hargovan Dabhi from SC seat Kadi. Apart from this, 4 independents  also tried their luck from this seat. 

Kheralu Assembly seat: The BJP had fielded Sardar Bhai and he won with 53838 votes. Opposing him was Congress's Mukesh Kumar Desai. The Aam Aadmi Party had fielded Dinesh ji from Kheralu seat. At the same time, 3 independents tried their luck. This seat was won by BJP's Bharat Singh Dabhi in 2017.

Mahesana seat: In this election, BJP had given the ticket to Mukesh Patel in Nitin Patel's place. He won polls with 73280 votes. On the other hand, Congress had named PK Patel as its candidate and the Aam Aadmi Party had placed its bets on the Patidar face. The elections for the Mehsana Assembly constituency are one of the highlights for a number of reasons. The absence of Nitin Patel, a former deputy chief minister and a prominent figure in the Mehsana district, is one of the primary causes. AAP's first-time participation in Gujarat elections may potentially prove to be a crucial factor. 

Unjha Assembly seat: KK Patel of BJP won the election with 88561 votes. Arvind Patel of Congress and Urvish Kumar Patel of Aam Aadmi Party also contested from Unjha seat. Asha Patel, a BJP legislator, represented the Unjha assembly seat. In December 2021, Patel passed away from dengue in a private hospital in Ahmedabad. The Unjha assembly district has always been a bastion for Congress. From 1995 until 2019, the grand old party controlled the seat. In the 2017 general election, Asha Patel won the Unjha seat for the Congress party. Subsequently, she switched to the BJP and won the byelection once more.

Vijapur Assembly seat: In Gujarat election 2017, BJP candidate Patel Ramanbhai Dhulabhai won Vijapur Assembly constituency seat after securing 72326 votes. The BJP candidate defeated INC candidate Patel Nathabhai Prabhudas by a margin of 1164 votes. Expressing confidence in him, the party has given him a chance this time too & he won with 64373 votes. Dr. CJ Chavda contested from Congress and Chiragbhai Patel from Aam Aadmi Party. At the same time, two independent candidates had also contested from this seat.

Visnagar Assembly seat: In Gujarat election 2017, BJP candidate Patel Rushikesh Ganeshbhai won Visnagar Assembly constituency seat after securing 77496 votes. The BJP candidate defeated INC candidate Patel Mahendrakumar S. (Mahesh Patel) by a margin of 2869 votes. This time again, BJP has given opportunity to R. Ganesh Bhai Patel and he won with 87803 votes. Meanwhile, Congress gave opportunity to Kirti Bhai Patel and Aam Aadmi Party to Advocate Jayantilal Mohanlal Patel.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios