Like Dadasaheb Phalke Award, Modi Govt is going to launch 'Satyajit Ray Award' this time. The announcement was made by Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar at an NFDC function in Kolkata on Monday (February 22).

The BJP-led NDA government is making all efforts before the polls to win the hearts of people in Bengal. A large part of Tollywood actors was present at today's government meeting. Rituparna Sengupta, actor Abir Chatterjee, director Arindam Shil, Anik Dutt, Gautam Ghosh, Nandita Roy, producer Mahendra Soni, Nispal Singh Rane attended the official function.

Also read: Congress, Left Front to hold joint rally in Kolkata on Feb 28

The development of Bengali cinema has been discussed in this government meeting. However, heavyweight BJP leaders like Babul Supriya, Hiran Chatterjee, who has just joined the BJP, Kanchana Mitra, a well-known face of the BJP, all were present at the event.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was started in 1969, and this is the first time that a film award has been announced at the national level in the name of a film personality. 

Also read: Abhishek Banerjee slams BJP; says “outsiders" will have to return after WB Polls

A section of people in the political arena thinks that the BJP-led NDA government has introduced this award to create an emotional bond with the people of Bengal before votes.

“Bangla wants its own daughter”, Trinamool took to the field with the slogan before the vote. Narendra Modi's party has come out in force to prove that the BJP is not an outsider in any way. Therefore, the announcement of the National Film Award in the name of Satyajit Ray before the polls is gaining more importance in Bengal.